Conservation Management Zones of Australia Esperance Coastal Shrublands and Mallee

Yüklə 0,96 Mb.
ölçüsü0,96 Mb.
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11

Zone vegetation characteristics

this column graph compares the pre 1750 distribution of native vegetation subgroups with the extant distribution of these vegetation types. analysis is for the all major vegetation subgroups that had an original distribution of greater than 1% of the zone. for eucalyptus woodlands with a shrubby understorey, pre 1750 distribution was 6 percent and present day distribution is 3 percent. for malle with hummock grass, pre 1750 distribution was 5 percent and present day distribution is 2 percent. for malle with a dense shrubby understorey, pre 1750 distribution was 67 percent and present day distribution is 31 percent. for other shrublands, pre 1750 distribution was 6 percent and present day distribution is 4 percent. for naturally bare, sand, rock, claypan, mudflat, pre 1750 distribution was 1 percent and present day distribution is 1 percent. for malle with an open shrubby understorey, pre 1750 distribution was 4 percent and present day distribution is 3 percent. for open mallee woodlands and sparse mallee shrublands with an open shrubby understorey, pre 1750 distribution was 5 percent and present day distribution is 2 percent.

The National Vegetation Information System (NVIS) framework is a nationally consistent vegetation classification system based on vegetation data collected by states and territories. It provides information on the extent and distribution of vegetation types across the Australian landscape.

Two products are used to provide the Zone Vegetation Characteristics graph. A modelled pre-European vegetation distribution (pre-1750), and extant (current extent) vegetation, which is based on contemporary vegetation mapping. The information presented here relates to Major Vegetation Subgroups (MVSs). There are 85 MVS types across Australia, describing the structure and floristic composition of dominant and secondary vegetation stratums (e.g. canopy and mid-storey species). Major Vegetation Subgroups only reflect the dominant vegetation type occurring in an area from a mix of vegetation types. Less-dominant vegetation groups which may also be present are therefore not represented.

It is important to note that the vegetation information is indicative only, as state and territory mapping in Australia is of variable resolution and scale. However, this data is the best available nationally consistent information on vegetation, and the dataset continues to evolve and increase in accuracy.

Analysing this information at Conservation Management Zone, rather than national level provides greater discrimination for decision makers, as clearance levels of vegetation types are not uniform across Australia. For example, eucalypt woodlands with a tussock grass understory is a vegetation type found across Australia. In the Brigalow Woodlands Conservation Management Zone, eucalypt open woodlands with a tussock grass understory originally covered approximately 36% of the zone, but today it only covers only 14.5 % of the zone (58.7% of this vegetation community has been cleared in the Brigalow). In the Northern Australia Tropical Savannah zone, this vegetation type originally occupied 19.6% of the zone. Today, it occupies approximately 19.4% of the zone (only 2.3% of this vegetation type has been cleared). It should be noted that this data only provides an indication of change in extent, and not vegetation condition.

For more information on the National Vegetation Information System (NVIS) please refer to:

Ramsar and Nationally Important Wetlands

Ramsar wetlands



Lake Gore



Lake Warden System



For more information on Ramsar please refer to:

Nationally Important Wetlands




Balicup Lake System



1, 4, 5

Culham Inlet System



1, 3, 4, 6

Fitzgerald Inlet System



1, 3, 5, 6

Lake Gore System



2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Lake Warden System



1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Mortijinup Lake System



1, 3, 6

Pink Lake



1, 5, 6

Yellilup Yate Swamp System



1, 2, 3, 6

Nationally important wetlands are defined according to the following criteria:

1.It is a good example of a wetland type occurring within a biogeographic region in Australia.

2.It is a wetland which plays an important ecological or hydrological role in the natural functioning of a major wetland system/complex.

3.It is a wetland which is important as the habitat for animal taxa at a vulnerable stage in their life cycles, or provides a refuge when adverse conditions such as drought prevail.

4.The wetland supports 1% or more of the national populations of any native plant or animal taxa.

5.The wetland supports native plant or animal taxa or communities which are considered endangered or vulnerable at the national level.

6.The wetland is of outstanding historical or cultural significance.

Please note, the above are a subset of all the Nationally Important Wetlands found within the Zone. For more information on Nationally Important Wetlands please see:

Yüklə 0,96 Mb.

Dostları ilə paylaş:
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11

Verilənlər bazası müəlliflik hüququ ilə müdafiə olunur © 2020
rəhbərliyinə müraciət

    Ana səhifə