Political System of Canada

Yüklə 1,48 Mb.
ölçüsü1,48 Mb.
ingliz tili

Political System of Canada

Canada is an independent federal parliamentary state. The Queen of Great Britain, Elizabeth II,

is the official head of the state, but the Governor General acts as her representative.

As a federation, Canada is made up of ten provinces and two territories

Canadian central

government in Ottawa represents all the peoples of Canada. Each province has its own

government and parliament.

Parliament of Canada consists of two houses, the Upper House called the Senate, and the Lower

House called the House of Commons. The Senate has 104 members. Senators are appointed by

the Governor General on the recommendation of the Prime Minister. The Senate has less power

than the House of Commons. Members of the House of Commons are elected for a term of five


The cabinet system of Canada unites the legislative and the executive branches. The Prime Minister and the Cabinet are usually members of the House of Commons, which is the highest authority in the government.

The Cabinet consists of 20 or more ministers, chosen by the Prime

Minister from leaders of the majority party in the House of Commons.

The two leading political parties in Canada are the Progressive Conservative Party and the

Liberal Party.

The Constitution of the country was only adopted in 1982.

thank you all
Yüklə 1,48 Mb.

Dostları ilə paylaş:

Verilənlər bazası müəlliflik hüququ ilə müdafiə olunur ©azkurs.org 2024
rəhbərliyinə müraciət

gir | qeydiyyatdan keç
    Ana səhifə